Social Justice

YWCA Clark County is committed to social justice by working to eliminate racism and other forms of oppression through education and support. By increasing civic engagement to eliminate racism and oppression, we can create respectful living, learning and working environments and build inclusive communities. When we engage in the most challenging conversations we create amazing opportunities for growth and change together.

We believe that when we examine our own individual beliefs and cultural values we can gain insights that help us make better decisions for ourselves, our families, and our communities. Our 1% for social change staff commitment, and our annual awards honoring social change advocates in our community are just a couple of the ways we fulfill our mission to eliminate racism and empower women.

To learn more about our Val Joshua Racial Justice Award and Youth Social Justice Award please contact Stephanie Barr at


Val Joshua Racial Justice Award

honoring our community

We give two awards to recognize people in our community who are working toward ending oppression, the Val Joshua Racial Justice Award and the Youth Social Justice Award. Visit our Val Joshua page to learn more about the nomination process and to download nomination forms.

The Val Joshua Racial Justice Award, named for longtime YWCA volunteer Val Joshua in honor of her commitment to and work for the elimination of racism, recognizes individuals and groups who are leaders in the struggle for peace, justice, freedom, and dignity for all people.

past honorees are:

1989 Val Joshua 1991 Jim Belton and Joan Stout 1992 Dave Radke 1993 Jerry King and Leann Johnson 1994 Randy Wulff and Community AME Zion Church 1995 Florine DuFresne and Private Industry Council 1996 NAACP Vancouver Branch, Kim Chau Larson, and Brian Willoughby 1997 DaVerne Bell and Harriet Levi 1998 Leonor Amaya-Brooks and Vernon Stoner 1999 Michelle Danley and Joyce Smith 2000 Patricia Guy and Greg Ford 2001 Karl Landerholm and Tanisha Harris 2002 Bob Moser 2003 Hewlett-Packard Vancouver 2004 Earl Ford and Diana Avalos 2005 Leilani Russell 2006 Dave Morris 2007 Jamie McCoy and Richard Twiss 2008 Mike Ciraulo and Rekah Strong 2010 Luz Virgen Gonzalez 2011 Vanessa Gaston 2011 Adam Carpinelli 2012 Kellie Henderson and Elizabeth Ruiz 2013 Amanda Marchak 2014 Michelle Bart and Christopher Resendiz 2015 Diana Perez and LaQuoya Tyler 2016 Felisciana Peralta and Astrid DuBois


YWCA Youth Social Justice Award

The YWCA Youth Social Justice Award recognizes high school students (both individuals and groups) whose work has made a positive impact toward supporting social change in Clark County.


past honorees are:

2007 SOAR International 2008 Michelle Prothero 2010 Yarenni Mendoza 2010 Ruth Ferguson 2011 Dreams without Boundaries 2012 Maribel Sanchez 2013 Estefania Medina 2014 Jose Scott